ICD-10-CM for Otitis Media

September 24, 2015


I am hoping that ICD-10-CM has codes for recurrent acute otitis media since this is one of the most common reasons why we put in tympanostomy tubes. Did this happen?


Yes – someone must have heard you! Many of the otitis media codes now specify acute, acute recurrent, and chronic. Laterality is also a prominent issue with the ear codes. For example, serous otitis media has the following specific codes:

H65. 01 Acute serous otitis media (ASOM), right ear
H65.02 ASOM, left ear
H65.03 ASOM, bilateral ears
H65.04 Acute recurrent serous otitis media (ARSOM), right ear
H65.05 ARSOM, left ear
H65.06 ARSOM, bilateral ears
H65.21 Chronic serous otitis media (CSOM), right ear
H65.22 CSOM, left ear
H65.32 CSOM, bilateral ears

*This response is based on the best information available as of 09/24/15.

Sign up for KZAlertsSign up for KZAlerts

Coding Coaches