RVU Compensation:
Are You Getting Credit Where It is Due?

October 19th, 2022 at 7:00pm Central (8:00pm Eastern/ 6:00pm Mountain/ 5:00pm Pacific)

Getting paid based upon clinical care seems both equitable and motivational. Yet, the resounding refrain from employed physicians re-negotiating their contracts is that productivity-based compensation is not working for them. They are working harder than ever, only to hear that their wRVUs are not meeting expectations.

Often, there is a disconnect between the work surgeons perceive they are doing and the wRVUs (and resulting revenue) the employer reports.

The reasons are complicated and include:

  • The terms of the original contract. Focusing solely on the dollar amount per wRVU can be problematic. The conversion factor is only one factor influencing your compensation.
  • Understand what significantly impacts your wRVU calculation. For example, who is doing the final coding? What codes were ultimately submitted, paid, or appealed?  Are you credited for work performed or only for services that are paid? How do payor discounting formulas impact RVU credit?  Teri used: Who submits claims and manages denials? Does anyone ever ask to meet with you about difficulties with prior authorization documentation, denials, or appeals? If not, that’s a sign of trouble. 
  • Does your work RVU count match your employer’s?  Learn how to use Code-X software to track surgical work RVUs.

Hospital employment for surgeons should be a mutually beneficial proposition for the surgeon and the institution if the correct processes are adopted by both stakeholders.

Presenter

Sarah is an experienced, professional, approachable consultant and speaker who succeeds in helping clients identify both risk and opportunity in their coding, reimbursement, and operational systems.

AAOS Coding Portfolio Manager Madelaine Reese will join the webinar to demonstrate how Code-X can help surgeons and their staff submit accurate claims.

Complimentary
45 minutes
*You will have access to the content for 30 days from the time you receive the access information.
Please email education@karenzupko.com if you have questions.

More Webinars

Sign up for KZAlertsSign up for KZAlerts

Coding Coaches